My experience with leaving the Mormon church

This was a Tweet I received, unprovoked: “Yeah, being LDS is not for the faint of heart. It takes backbone, endurance & grounded roots. http://bit.ly/9sZg6A”  The link is to a blog on anti-Mormons, which I am not.  As for backbone, it takes a lot to stick up for your beliefs, whether they are Mormon or not.  Last I knew, Mormons believed in being tolerant of other beliefs.  Article of Faith # 11 states, “We claim the privilege of worshiping Almighty God according to the dictates of our own conscience, and allow all men the same privilege, let them worship how, where, or what they may.”  I guess once you leave the church, you aren’t allowed that freedom without criticism!?!

Comments on: "Already have Tweeps trying to ‘insult’ me." (2)

  1. The LDS claim to allow people the “privelge” of letting them worship, what, who or how they may. Yet, in reality that does not apply to it’s members who chose to resign and leave the confines of the LDS church.

    I expierenced amazing things when I left Mormonism.
    I had people say I was possesed by a devil, mentally ill, come to my home, etc. etc.

    Bottom line is , if a person no longer wants to be a part of a group – then for pities sake let them go! Let them have their free will. Live what you preach.

Leave a Reply

