My experience with leaving the Mormon church

Not much of an update

My second letter was accepted at the LDS HQ, yesterday.  I did fax it in, too, but haven’t received acknowledgement of it, like I did the original fax.  It’s just a waiting game.  I haven’t sent any emails to my former VT, even though I got one from her the other day.  I’m just ignoring it.

As far as my spirituality goes, I’m at a standstill.  I read the Gospel of John, but no more of the Bible.  I did download some Bible apps to my smart phone.  One, you can listen to the daily reading plan.  It’s nice, but I’ve only used it once.  I have a friend who is praying for me and trying to find a local church that I should attend.  She’s suggested a few, but one her friend is a preacher of.  She is willing to go with me, too, just for the one service, as she has her own church.  I don’t know, I’m quite overwhelmed with the idea of school.  I feel quite content just being a good person, for now.

Comments on: "Not much of an update" (4)

  1. samuel l flyinghorse said:

    all you can be is yourself.
    It’s like school, college, you were there but now you take some memories with you and what good that experience made you-and move on.
    theChurch shouldn’t define you though, or who you are.
    All my life I’ve been close to the Creator, I’ve been a spiritual person because as a Native, it’s who we are and no manmade church or org can touch us on that.
    Remember that theChurch wants your $, and it wants to Control you. It wants you to live in fear, don’t let anything like that happen to you.
    Finally I am at peace with myself after all these years. No church owns me or controls me. I’m big enough to stand on my own two feet.
    Someday you’ll arrive at that place.
    Fill your Sundays and extra time with YOU activities.
    And keep your $ to yourself.
    Great to meet you.
    always, lovs Sam!!
    Samuel L Flyinghorse
    US Army Infantry

    • Thanks Samuel for the comment! I appreciate your input! Yea, most churches just want your money, so I’m not sure if I’m ready to go again, anyway. My husband claims his place of worship is right here in the house. Well, except he worships the TV! LOL! He’s not very spiritual. I’ve always been a spiritual person, too, whether I’ve been in a church or not. I have my college courses starting Monday that I need to work on, so I need all the ME time I can get! Thanks for stopping by, too! 🙂

  2. Christina,

    I am praying for you!

    Fellowship with other believers is important for our spiritual development and growth. I will be praying that God will lead you and direct you!
    Meanwhile, you can worhsip at home.. do you have any worship CD’s? Just stick one on and sing!
    The Lord loves our worship.

    Also, the churches I have attended have never ever asked for my money. They don’t pass a plate around etc. While God loves the cheerful giver, Biblically sound churches will not be begging for money but trusting God to provide.

    Just some thoughts,

    gloria

Leave a Reply

