My experience with leaving the Mormon church

Luther’s Small Catechism

My brother found a brand new copy of Luther’s Small Catechism in his house, while cleaning it out, a while back.  So, I’m taking a break from writing my paper and glancing through it.  I grew up Lutheran, but never knew we were supposed to confess our sins to the pastor!?!  I thought that was only for Catholics!?!  I don’t even recall being taught that when I was in catechism class!  It talks about the Office of the Keys, which is a special authority which Christ gave to His church on earth to forgive the sins of repentant sinners, but to withhold forgiveness from the unrepentant as long as they do not repent!?!  So the Mormons stole the whole key idea from Luther!?!  LOL!  Anyway, does this mean, as I was growing up Lutheran, that I was never forgiven of my sins, because I never repented to the pastor!?!  WTF!?!  Apparently this is in the Bible, in John 20: 22-23:  “And with that he breathed on them and said, ‘Receive the Holy Spirit.  If you forgive anyone’s sins, their sins are forgiven; if you do not forgive them, they are not forgiven.'”  Wow, just WOW!

Leave a Reply

